South Korea Allow Visa-Free Foreigners 72 hour Stay At Regional Airports

On Thursday, 12th December 2019, South Korea announced a new visa free policy measures for travelers.

In the report, the new program included an expansion in the visa-free stay policy where citizens of countries on its visa-free list can have a 72-hour stay.

But what does that mean to nationals who are on South Korea’s visa-free list?

It means that you can have up to 72 hours of stay without a visa in the country’s regional airports.

This, according to the report, is aimed at boosting South Korea’s tourism and, more importantly, at the regional level.

In the government meeting presided over by Prime Minister Lee Nak-Yeon, new strategic plans were developed to increase tourism in the regional and local levels of the South Korean economy.

Gathered at the meeting were the following ministers; transportation, health, and culture as well as Ministers and deputy ministers from the education, finance, agriculture, and the foreign affairs ministries.

Not only the Ministers attended the meeting, but also other officials from tourism and other government-related bodies.

Read also: Nigeria To Issue Visa On Arrival For All African Countries – President Buhari

Other Policy Decision Taken In Addition To The 72 Hour Visa-Free Stay

At the meeting, four (4) major policy decisions were taken and notable among which are the increase in the visa-free stay to regional airports.

Another prominent discussion that took place at the meeting was the new visa agreement with South-East Asian Countries (SEA).

The plan by South Korea to sign a new treaty with the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN) is to allow people from the sub-region to enjoy regional tours.

According to the government press release, young people from the ASEAN can enjoy up to one (1) year stay in South Korea.

Meaning if you are a passport holder in any of the ASEAN states, you can have up to a year stay in South Korea without any restrictions.

Add a Comment